External Event: Home Sweet Home

Home Sweet Home is a fundraiser for the Cambridge Housing Assistance Fund (CHAF). Pastry chefs from the Boston area give out samples of dessert, and people pay $50 to get in and taste everything. This was the third annual event. Most of the vendors this year were restaurants, but Toscanini’s ice cream had a table and the Cambridge School of Culinary Arts had a table.

Chef Sharon at the CSCA table

Chef Sharon at the CSCA table


I didn’t work on the dessert, but Chef Martha and some of her students brainstormed and made a bread pudding with apples and cranberries topped with a maple-orange sauce and candied pecans.
CSCA's bread pudding dessert

CSCA's bread pudding dessert


Most of the desserts were restaurant-style plated desserts. I should’ve taken more photos; some of them were really beautiful. The Hyatt, where the event was held, had a table with a warm dessert, which they heated on an induction cooktop. Most of the desserts were arranged in single servings on plates. Henrietta’s Table had pumpkin whoopie pies laid out on their table over a bed of pumpkin seeds and cinnamon sticks; that was my favorite display (no photo of that, either, unfortunately).
A couple of the 15 vendors

A couple of the 15 vendors


City Table at the Lenox Hotel also brought a bread pudding. Theirs was very pretty.
Bread pudding from City Table at the Lenox Hotel

Bread pudding from City Table at the Lenox Hotel


Students from Boston University’s hospitality school volunteered, basically doing anything that needed to be done, such as bringing us fresh plates and spoons.
You could spot the volunteers by their t-shirts.

You could spot the volunteers by their t-shirts.


Music was provided by The Love Dogs, who cover classic rock, rockabilly, and swing. You haven’t heard anything until you’ve heard a rockabilly medley that includes “I Wanna Be Sedated.” They were really good, and once people had sampled desserts, they burned off some of the calories dancing.
Eating desserts and dancing to The Love Dogs

Eating desserts and dancing to The Love Dogs


Early in the evening a volunteer came by and collected several of each dessert for judges to taste, and the people who attended were encouraged to vote for their favorites. Toward the end of the evening, the “Yummy Awards” were given out. CSCA won for best non-chocolate dessert!
Chef Sharon accepts the Yummy Award for best non-chcolate dessert

Chef Sharon accepts the Yummy Award for best non-chocolate dessert


This wasn’t entirely unexpected because many people who tasted it told us they really liked it. Quite a few people saw we had bread pudding and told us bread pudding was their favorite dessert.
Chef Sharon and the award (in the baking mold to the left of the pumpkins)

Chef Sharon and the award (in the baking mold to the left of the pumpkins)


On the other hand, plenty of people stopped, read the sign that described the bread pudding, and walked away; you could almost hear them thinking, “That’s not dessert; there’s no chocolate in it.” The award for best chocolate dessert was for something called “Chocolate Decadence,” but I thought it should’ve gone to Bergamot‘s chocolate pavé with pumpkin, which was delicious and beautiful and made with Taza chocolate.

About linguina

For most of my life I've loved to read and to make stuff. My mother says I taught myself to read when I was 4, and I never looked back. I also liked fooling around in the kitchen, but my mother wasn't really into cooking, so I learned a lot of that on my own, too. My sister and I had the Betty Crocker New Boys and Girls Cookbook (1965), and naturally I had to make the Enchanted Castle Cake. I learned how to bake bread when I was 14, and I bought a copy of the Joy of Cooking when I was 17. My aunt and uncle gave me Mastering the Art of French Cooking for my 19th birthday, and the first thing I made was soufflé. I've always been more of a baker than a cook, though. When our niece used to visit us during her breaks from college, she'd get me to show her some cooking things (including soufflé, of course!), but I kept having to tell her, "This is just how I do it. I have no idea if it's the right way." Finally, I took a basic cooking class, and that changed my life. After that class, I signed up for a 4-day baking class at King Arthur Flour. That's when I knew I was really a baker. Now I'm taking the professional pastry program at the Cambridge School of Culinary Arts. With this training, I'll become a pastry chef.
This entry was posted in exernal event. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

